WHO issues SARS warning on travel to three more Chinese regions

The United Nations World Health Organization (WHO) today added three more regions of China to its travel advisory against all but essential travel because of outbreaks of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) as the death toll for the newly emergent disease passed 500 worldwide.Seven Chinese regions are now on the precautionary list, with Tianjin, Inner Mongolia and Taiwan Province joining Beijing, Hong Kong, Guangdong and Shanxi.China and its regions have by far the largest number of SARS cases so far reported worldwide, with 6,491 cases out of 7,053 and 445 deaths out of 506 as of today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *